Frequently Asked Questions

Is shipping available to the USA?

We are still working on export procedure and for now, the kit is only available in Canada. But we are working very hard to make that possible as soon as possible. Depending on the situation, we think it will be available by next spring.

I invite you to register at the bottom of this page to receive our articles and be the first to be informed of our news.

What is the production lead time?

The delay varies according to the demand and your position in our order book. Since we operate in order of order priority, the sooner you make your reservation, the sooner you will be able to receive your kit. The best way to find out the current lead time is to contact us, as it can vary from day to day.

Where is your manufacturing facility located?

We are located in Quebec City, 10 minutes from downtown, in the industrial district of Charlesbourg. We accept visits by appointment only. Here is the link to make an appointment. The address of our workshop is the following: 695 rue du carbone, Québec,Qc, G2N 2K7.

Is your product made in Quebec?

Yes, our product is made in Quebec and by hand!

Which vehicle model is the most optimal?

We have a kit for each model of van. See the list of models. Since each model has different interior curves and elevations and since we always prioritize ergonomics and upper body comfort, storage space may vary from one vehicle model to another. In addition, some vehicles will have a second-row floor-mounted floor mat, while others offer a completely flat floor. You can therefore see the differences in dimensions and images for each model on our online store.

The biggest difference between models is the ‘Stow and Go’ option in the middle row. This feature is interesting for conversion to a camper, as it allows four people to travel. Only the Dodge Grand Caravan and the non-hybrid Chrysler Pacifica have this very practical feature.

Do you have a kit adapted for SUVs?

Currently, we specialize in kit design for minivan only, as this vehicle has interesting dimensions for conversion into a camper. Its dimensions are similar to those of a westfalia, which means that there is a lot of storage space as well as unequalled comfort inside (table and bench, extra-long bed, etc).

 

We are, however, constantly developing, so SUVs remain a possibility for the future.

 

However, it’s certain that you won’t have all the features and comfort of a minivan! Many of our customers change vehicles, to have an everyday vehicle that also serves as a camper.

Do I have to remove the seats from the vehicle to use my kit?

Second row of seats:

The space in the second row must be freed up to use the kit. If you have the Stow and Go option (benches that go into the floor) you can leave them in the vehicle and store them in the floor when you are in “camper” mode. You will be able to keep your seats at all times with this model.

However, if your second row bench does not fit in the floor, you must remove it when you go on a trip. Fortunately, our kit always allows you to free up the space in the second row by moving the table and bench section backwards. So those who don’t have the Stow and Go and want to have the passenger functionality outside of their getaways can quickly put the benches back in place while keeping the kit in the car. Here is a video to discover this feature.

 

Third row of seats:

You don’t have to remove the third row in order to use the RoadLoft kit. Your kit will be compatible with or without this bench seat. However, it will have to be stored in the floor to accommodate the RoadLoft kit. Personally, we remove the third bench seat to use the extra space to store food, water and the refrigerator.

Which model of vehicle allows 4 people to travel?

Our kit is designed to free up bench space by moving the bench and table section of the kit to the rear of the vehicle when you want to move the seats out of the floor. Only vehicles with the Stow and Go option in the middle row therefore allow you to store the benches in the floor when you want to deploy the kit and use it. Only the Dodge Grand Caravan and the non-hybrid Chrysler Pacifica have the Stow and Go feature in the middle row.

The other vehicle models will allow you to have the passenger-carrying feature outside of your getaways, since our kit allows you to free up the middle row section for seating. Often, the seats have a “clip” system to easily remove and replace the benches.

 

 

Is it possible to travel as a family with the RoadLoft kit?

To travel as a family, you must select a vehicle that has the ”Stow and Go” option (seats that fit into the floor) in the middle row. Only the Dodge Grand Caravan and Chrysler Pacifica (non-hybrid) have this option.

When you’re on the road, you can easily move the bench and table section of the kit to free up space for the seats. When you arrive at your destination, you can stow the seats in seconds and put the kit back in place for use.

 

For the night, the bed in the Roadloft is large enough to accommodate 2 adults and a young child if needed. Depending on the size of your child, there are different solutions. You will find several ideas on Pinterest – for example a bed in the front of the vehicle (hammock or mattress) that occupies the width of the vehicle.  Alternatively, there are several tents that can be connected to the car or you can opt for a roof tent.

 

Is a kit for one vehicle model compatible with another?

No, each model has unique interior curves that require us to design a kit that is optimized for optimum ergonomics and comfort.

Is it possible to try your kit in person?

You can discover the RoadLoft kit at exhibiting dealerships, at events or during a private visit to our manufacturing workshop. Discover the possibilities at this link.

Use

Can I have a toilet inside my van with my RoadLoft kit?

We have provided enough space at the end of the bed for a camping toilet. All you have to do is move the front benches completely forward. Some models will be compatible with the space, from the ultra-compact toilet to the more comfortable “cassette” toilet. For the last option, we recommend the Porta-Potti 135 portable toilet or the Dometic 972 or 975 which will be compatible with the dimensions of the kit. At night, the toilet can be placed at the end of the bed and during the day, when travelling, it can be placed under the table.

Is it too hot in a minivan in the summer / Are there mosquito netting solutions?

With different solutions, it is possible to be very comfortable in a van, even on hot nights.

The first solution is ventilation through the windows. You can enjoy ventilation without worrying about mosquitoes with different mosquito net solutions. You can discover different solutions to make yourself or to buy on our blog article on this subject. You should know that most of the time, the rear windows allow you to have a ventilation that is pleasant and sufficient. On very hot nights, you will be comfortable by opening all the windows of your van.

 

You can also keep your vehicle cool thanks to the insulating front curtains. They help block the sun’s rays and keep your vehicle cooler. This means your vehicle will absorb less heat and be cooler at night to accommodate you.

 

Finally, some of our customers have also added a small USB fan for added ventilation, although we’ve never had the need for this ourselves. Be sure to choose one that consumes little energy and connect it to an auxiliary battery (do not use the vehicle battery as this will discharge it).

What do you do for showers?

There are several solutions! Discover them on our blog article on this subject.

Can I travel independently with a minivan?

We invite you to read the article: How to adapt your Roadloft to travel independently.

What is the difference between a refrigerator and an electric cooler?

An electric cooler consumes much more energy than a refrigerator and generally has a temperature difference of 20°C with the outside. Therefore, you often need to add ice on summer days, unlike a refrigerator where you can determine the exact temperature you want.  The cooler runs continuously, which quickly discharges your battery. A refrigerator, on the other hand, will run for a few minutes every hour, since it is much better insulated and has a compressor. For example, if it is programmed at 5°C, it will run only when it notices a temperature variation and will stop as soon as the desired temperature is reached.  For example, at an outside temperature of 25°C, the refrigerator will run for as little as 15 minutes per hour, while the cooler will run for the entire hour since it never stops.

For the same auxiliary battery, you will therefore have much more autonomy with a refrigerator. We provide an interesting model on our online store at this link.

Prices, dimensions and delivery

Do I need special insurance or registration to convert my minivan into a camper?

The RoadLoft kit offers a non-permanent modification of your vehicle in a camper, allowing you to save on insurance and registration fees. You won’t have to pay for RV insurance and you will save a lot! Discover all our advantages here.

What are the dimensions of the kit?

Installed in the vehicle: 83″ L x 47″ l x 11″ h

Stored at home: 47″L x 26″ l x 20.5″ h

Weight: 56 kg

I invite you to visit our product sheets in the online shop. Some kits have different dimensions in order to adapt precisely to the unevenness and curves of the different vehicle models, so as to make them totally optimal.

How thick is your mattress?

Mattress comfort is determined by its quality and density. Although our mattress is 6 cm thick, it has a density of 27 kg/m³, which places it in the top quality of mattresses – it will provide good lumbar support and will remain comfortable over time.

 

Our design is made to optimize space and make it as ergonomic as possible. The thickness of our mattress is therefore carefully considered. A thicker mattress would take up too much living space and would result in less clearance above your head when sitting on the bench.

How much does a RoadLoft kit cost?

The RoadLoft conversion kit is priced at 4490$+taxes. It includes the high density mattress, the 5 back curtains, the retractable sink and the cutting board. You can also find on our online store other interesting items such as solar panels, insulating curtains, lithium batteries etc. Here is the link to the shop.

How is the kit attached to the vehicle?

Our fastening system is super simple and very solid. You can see the handling of the kit in this video.

The Roadloft module is fixed to the vehicle by a system of external pressure on the walls of the vehicle as well as by velcro tabs for friction. The fixing does not require any modification to be made to your vehicle and no screws or holes to be made. It is very solid. Here is also the link for a virtual visit where you can also see the manipulations of the sections

Do I have to pay the full amount when I order?

We ask for a $1500 deposit to guarantee the reservation and to be added to the order book. The balance on your invoice must be paid when your kit is ready, 24 to 48 hours before the installation or shipping date.

What justifies this price?

The price is largely justified by the quality of the design and the materials selected. We have designed a kit made to last over time and to withstand the vibrations of the road. We have chosen quality materials, made to last over time, healthy and environmentally friendly. In addition to coming from sustainable forest management, our wood is of marine quality and used for sailboat furniture due to its resistance to humidity and its strength/flexibility/lightness ratio. It is protected by an ecological varnish without any volatile organic compound emanation which protects it 100% from humidity. Our kits are made here in Quebec and our finishing requires a lot of work from our team. Discover all our advantages here.

Do you offer financing?

We do not offer financing. The full amount must be paid before the day of your delivery/pick-up.

 

What type of payment do you accept?

We accept bank transfers, Interac, Visa and Mastercard credit cards. The only constraint is that you must use the same payment method when depositing and paying the final balance.

When I choose to pick up at your shop, do you do the installation?

We offer the first installation free of charge and we take care to show you every step, although the installation of RoadLoft is very simple. You will also receive a user guide with your purchase.

Questions fréquentes

Quel est le délai de production?

Le délai varie en fonction de la demande et de votre position dans notre carnet de commande. Puisque nous fonctionnons par ordre de priorité de commande, plus tôt vous ferez votre réservation, plus tôt vous pourrez recevoir votre kit de conversion instantané. Le meilleur moyen de connaître le délai actuel est de nous contacter, puisqu’il peut varier de jours en jours.

Où se situe votre atelier de fabrication?

Nous sommes situés dans la ville de Québec à 10 minutes du centre-ville, dans le quartier industriel de Charlesbourg. Nous acceptons les visites sur rendez-vous seulement. Voici le lien pour prendre rendez-vous. L’adresse de notre atelier est la suivante : 695 rue du carbone, Québec,Qc,  G2N 2K7.

Est-ce que votre produit est fabriqué au Québec?

Oui, notre produit est fabriqué au Québec et à la main selon les plus hauts standards de qualité! 

Quel modèle de véhicule est le plus optimal?

Nous possédons un kit pour chaque modèle de fourgonnette. Voir la liste des modèles. Comme chaque modèle possède des courbes et dénivelés intérieurs différents et que nous priorisons toujours l’ergonomie et le confort du haut du corps, les espaces de rangement peuvent varier d’un modèle de véhicule à l’autre. De plus, certains véhicules posséderont une braquette au plancher à la deuxième rangée alors que d’autres offrent un plancher complètement plat. Vous pouvez donc voir les différences de dimensions et les images via chaque modèle sur notre boutique en ligne

La plus grande différence entre les modèles est l’option Stow and Go (sièges qui s’encastrent dans le plancher) à la rangée du milieu. Cette fonctionnalité est intéressante pour une transformation en campeur puisqu’elle permet de voyager à quatre personnes. Seules la Dodge Grand Caravan et la Chrysler Pacifica non-hybride possèdent cette fonctionnalité très pratique.

 

Avez-vous un kit adapté pour les VUS?

Actuellement, nous nous spécialisons dans la conception de kits pour mini-van uniquement, car ce véhicule a des dimensions intéressantes pour la transformation en campeur. Ses dimensions s’apparentent à un celles d’un Westfalia, ce qui procure énormément de rangement en plus d’un confort inégalé à l’intérieur (table et banquette, lit extra-long, etc).

Nous sommes toutefois constamment en développement et les VUS demeurent donc une possibilité pour le futur. 

Toutefois, il serait difficile de retrouver dans un VUS toutes les fonctionnalités et autant de confort que dans une mini-van! C’est pourquoi beaucoup de nos clients changent leur véhicule de tous les jours pour une mini-van qui leur sert aussi de campeur.

Dois-je retirer les banquettes du véhicule pour utiliser mon kit?

Deuxième rangée de sièges:

L’espace de la deuxième rangée doit être libéré pour utiliser le kit. Si vous avez l’option Stow and Go (les bancs qui s’encastrent dans le plancher) vous pouvez les laisser dans le véhicule et les ranger dans le plancher lorsque vous êtes en mode campeur. Vous pourrez donc garder en tout temps vos sièges avec ce modèle. 

Par contre, si votre banquette de la 2e rangée ne se range pas dans le plancher, vous devez la retirer lors de vos sorties. Heureusement, notre kit permet toujours de libérer l’espace de la deuxième rangée en déplaçant la section table et banquette vers l’arrière. Ainsi, ceux qui n’ont pas la fonctionnalité Stow and Go et qui veulent transporter des passagers en dehors de leurs sorties peuvent remettre les bancs en place rapidement, tout en conservant le kit dans la voiture. Voici une vidéo pour découvrir cette fonctionnalité.

 

Troisième rangée de sièges:

Vous n’avez pas l’obligation de retirer la troisième rangée afin d’utiliser le kit RoadLoft. Votre kit sera compatible autant avec ou sans cette banquette. Par contre, elle devra être rangée dans le plancher pour accueillir le kit RoadLoft. Personnellement, nous retirons la troisième banquette pour utiliser l’espace supplémentaire pour ranger la nourriture, l’eau et le réfrigérateur. 

Quel modèle de véhicule permet de voyager à 4 personnes?

Notre kit est conçu pour libérer l’espace des bancs en déplaçant la section banquette et table du kit vers l’arrière du véhicule, lorsqu’on veut sortir les sièges du plancher. Seuls les véhicules possédant l’option Stow and Go à la rangée du milieu permettent donc de ranger les bancs dans le plancher lorsque vous désirez déployer le kit et l’utiliser. Il n’y a que la Dodge Grand Caravan et la Chrysler Pacifica non-hybride qui présentent la fonctionnalité Stow and Go à la rangée du milieu.

Les autres modèles de véhicules vous permettront de transporter des passagers lors de vos sorties, puisque notre kit permet de libérer la section de la rangée du milieu pour y placer les sièges. Souvent, les sièges ont un système de ‘’clip’’ afin de facilement enlever et remettre les bancs. 

 

 

Est-ce possible de voyager en famille avec le kit RoadLoft?

Pour voyager en famille, vous devez sélectionner un véhicule qui possède l’option  »Stow and Go » (les sièges qui s’encastrent dans le plancher) à la rangée du milieu. Seuls la Dodge Grand Caravan et la Chrysler Pacifica (non-hybride) possèdent cette option. 

Lors de vos déplacements, vous pourrez facilement déplacer la section banquette et table du kit afin de libérer l’espace pour les sièges. Arrivés à destination, vous pourrez ranger les sièges en quelques secondes et remettre votre kit en place pour l’utiliser.

Pour la nuit, le lit du module de conversion Roadloft est assez grand et peut accueillir 2 adultes et un jeune enfant au besoin. Dépendamment de la grandeur de votre enfant, il existe différentes solutions. Vous trouverez plusieurs idées sur Pinterest – par exemple de lit à l’avant du véhicule (hamacs ou matelas) qui occupe la largeur du véhicule.  Sinon, il existe plusieurs tentes qui peuvent se connecter à la voiture ou encore vous pouvez opter pour une tente de toit.

 

Est-ce qu’un kit pour un modèle de véhicule est compatible avec un autre?

Non, chaque modèle possède des courbes intérieures uniques qui nous obligent à concevoir un kit optimisé et qui offrira une ergonomie et un confort optimal.

Est-il possible d’essayer votre kit en personne?

Vous pouvez découvrir le kit RoadLoft chez les concessionnaires exposants, lors des événements ou encore lors d’une visite privée à notre atelier de fabrication. Découvrez les possibilités à ce lien.

Utilisation

Puis-je avoir une toilette à l’intérieur de ma fourgonnette avec mon kit RoadLoft?

Nous avons prévu suffisamment d’espace au bout du lit pour y placer une toilette de camping. Il suffit d’avancer complètement les bancs avant. Certains modèles seront compatibles avec l’espace, allant de la toilette ultra compacte jusqu’à la toilette avec «cassette», plus confortable. Pour cette dernière option, nous recommandons la toilette portative Porta-Potti 135 ou la Dometic 972 ou 975 qui seront compatibles avec les dimensions du kit. La nuit, la toilette peut être mise au bout du lit et le jour, lors des déplacements, elle peut être placée sous la table.

Est-ce qu’il fait trop chaud dans un mini-van l’été? / Existe-t-il des solutions moustiquaires?

Grâce à différentes solutions, il est possible d’être très confortable dans une fourgonnette, même lors des nuits chaudes.

La première solution consiste à aérer par les fenêtres. Vous pourrez bénéficier d’une aération sans souci des moustiques avec différentes solutions moustiquaires. Vous pouvez découvrir différentes solutions à faire soi-même ou à se procurer sur notre article blog à ce sujet. Sachez que la majorité du temps, les fenêtres arrière permettent d’avoir une aération qui est agréable et suffisante. Lors des nuits très chaudes, vous serez confortables en ouvrant toutes les fenêtres de votre fourgonnette. 

Vous pouvez également garder la fraîcheur dans votre véhicule grâce aux rideaux isolants avant. Ils permettent de bloquer les rayons de soleil et de garder votre véhicule plus frais. Votre véhicule absorbera donc moins de chaleur et sera plus frais le soir pour vous accueillir. 

 

Enfin, certains de nos clients ont aussi fait l’ajout d’un petit ventilateur USB afin d’avoir une plus grande aération, bien que nous n’en ayons jamais eu le besoin nous-mêmes. Assurez-vous d’en choisir un qui consomme peu d’énergie et de le brancher à une batterie auxiliaire (ne pas utiliser la batterie du véhicule au risque de la décharger).

Que faites-vous pour les douches?

Il existe plusieurs solutions! Découvrez-les sur notre article blog à ce sujet

Puis-je voyager de manière autonome avec une mini-van?

Nous vous invitons à lire l’article: Comment adapter votre Roadloft pour voyager de manière autonome.

Quelle est la différence entre un réfrigérateur et une glacière électrique?

Une glacière électrique consomme beaucoup plus qu’un réfrigérateur et offre généralement une différence de température de 20 °C avec l’extérieur. Ainsi, il faut souvent ajouter de la glace lors des journées d’été contrairement au réfrigérateur où vous pourrez déterminer la température exacte désiréeLa glacière fonctionne en continu, ce qui décharge rapidement votre batterie. Un réfrigérateur quant à lui, fonctionnera quelques minutes par heure, puisqu’il est beaucoup mieux isolé et possède un compresseur. Par exemple, s’il est programmé à 5 °C, il fonctionnera seulement lorsqu’il constatera une variation de température et s’arrêtera dès que la température demandée sera atteinte.  Ainsi, pour une température extérieure de 25 °C, le réfrigérateur fonctionnera aussi peu que 15 minutes par heure alors que la glacière fonctionnera l’heure entière puisqu’elle ne s’arrête jamais. 

Pour une même batterie auxiliaire, vous aurez donc beaucoup plus d’autonomie avec un réfrigérateur. Nous fournissons un modèle intéressant sur notre boutique en ligne, à ce lien.

Prix, dimensions et livraison

Dois-je avoir des assurances ou immatriculations spécifiques pour transformer ma mini-van en campeur?

Le kit de conversion RoadLoft permet une modification non-permanente de votre véhicule en campeur, ce qui vous permet d’économiser au niveau des assurances et immatriculations. Vous n’aurez pas à payer des assurances de véhicules récréatifs et vous économiserez énormément! Découvrez tous nos avantages ici.

Quels sont les dimensions du kit?

Installé dans le véhicule : 83″ L x 47″ l x 11″ h

Rangé chez soi : 47″L x 26″ l x 20.5″ h

Poids : 56 kg

Je vous invite à aller visiter nos fiches de produits dans la boutique en ligne. Certains kits ont des dimensions qui diffèrent  afin de s’adapter précisément aux dénivelés et courbes des différents modèles de véhicule, de manière à les rendre totalement optimal. 

Quelle est l’épaisseur de votre matelas?

 Le confort du matelas est déterminé par sa qualité et sa densité. Bien que notre matelas soit 6 cm d’épaisseur, il possède une densité de 27 kg/m³, ce qui le positionne dans la qualité supérieure de matelas. Il offrira un bon soutien lombaire et demeurera confortable dans le temps.

Notre conception est faite pour optimiser l’espace et le rendre le plus ergonomique possible. L’épaisseur de notre matelas est donc longuement réfléchie. Un matelas plus épais prendrait trop d’espace de vie et ferait en sorte que vous auriez moins de dégagement au-dessus de  la tête, lorsque qu’assis sur la banquette.

Quel est le prix d’un kit RoadLoft?

Le kit de conversion RoadLoft est au prix de 4490 $ + taxes. Cela inclut le matelas haute densité, le 5 rideaux arrières, le lavabo rétractable et la planche à découper. Vous pourrez également trouver sur notre boutique en ligne d’autres articles intéressants tel que des panneaux solaires, des rideaux isolants, des batteries au lithium etc. Voici le lien vers la boutique.

De quelle manière le kit est fixé au véhicule?

Notre système de fixation est super simple et très solide. Vous pouvez voir la manipulation du kit dans ce vidéo.  

Le module Roadloft est fixé au véhicule par un système de pression extérieure sur les parois du véhicule ainsi que de pattes avec velcro pour la friction. La fixation ne nécessite aucune modification à apporter à votre véhicule ni aucune vis ou perçage à faire. Elle est très solide. Voici aussi le lien pour une visite virtuelle où vous pourrez également voir les manipulations des sections.

Dois-je payer l’intégralité du montant lors de ma commande?

Nous demandons un acompte de 1500$ pour garantir la réservation et être ajouté au carnet de commande. Le solde à votre facture doit être réglé lorsque votre kit est prêt, soit 24 à 48 heures avant la date d’installation ou d’expédition.

Qu’est-ce qui justifie ce prix?

Le prix est grandement justifié par la qualité de la conception et des matériaux sélectionnés. Nous avons conçu un kit fait pour durer dans le temps et pour résister aux vibrations de la route. Nous avons choisi des matériaux de qualité, sains et écologiques. En plus d’être issu de la gestion durable des forêts, notre bois est de qualité marine et utilisé pour les mobiliers de voilier dû à sa résistance à l’humidité et à son ratio solidité/flexibilité/légèreté. Il est protégé par un vernis écologique sans aucune émanation de composé organique volatile qui le protège à 100% de l’humidité. Nos kits sont faits ici au Québec et notre finition demande beaucoup de travail de la part de notre équipe. Découvrez tous nos avantages ici.

Offrez-vous du financement?

Nous n’offrons pas de financement. La totalité du montant doit être réglée avant la jour de votre livraison/cueillette.

 

Quel type de paiement acceptez-vous?

Nous acceptons les virements bancaires, Interac et les cartes de crédit Visa et Mastercard. La seule contrainte est que vous devez utiliser la même méthode de paiement lors du dépôt et de l’acquittement du solde final.

Lorsque je choisis la cueillette à votre atelier, est-ce que vous faites l’installation?

Nous offrons la première installation gratuite et nous prenons soin de vous montrer chaque étape, bien que l’installation du RoadLoft soit très simple. Vous recevrez aussi à l’achat un guide d’utilisation.